FIFA World Cup™ finals history
Chile have graced nine FIFA World Cups, the last two of them consecutive, a first for La Roja since the 1960s. Their best ever performance was third place on home soil in 1962, since when they have never progressed beyond the Round of 16, though they came close to breaking that run at Brazil 2014, where they lost on penalties to the hosts. The South Americans were one of the 13 nations to contest the inaugural world finals in 1930.

The team
The mainstays of Chile’s finest ever generation form the backbone of the side. Among them the solid and reliable Claudio Bravo between the posts; the versatile and inspirational Gary Medel; the tireless Arturo Vidal; and the elusive Alexis Sanchez.

The coach
The Argentinian Jorge Sampaoli has forged his growing reputation in Chile, despite having also worked in his country’s second division, and also in Peru and Ecuador. His move into the Roja hotseat in late 2012 was a logical step, given the similarities between his footballing philosophy and that of Marcelo Bielsa, who coached the side with distinction between 2007 and 2010, not to mention Sampaoli’s impressive record with Universidad de Chile, where he won five trophies in all.

The stat
1 - 
The number of Chilean players who have appeared at three World Cups. The man in question was Elias Figueroa, who ran out for La Roja at England 1966, Germany 1974 and Spain 1982.

The former stars
Elias Figueroa, Sergio Livingstone, Patricio Yanez, Carlos Caszely, Ivan Zamorano, Marcelo Salas