FIFA World Cup™ finals history
Brazil have sparkled at FIFA World Cups over the years and aside from being the only nation to have participated at all 20 tournaments to date - with Russia 2018 representing their 21st appearance - they are also the only country to have won the title five times, doing so at Sweden 1958, Chile 1962, Mexico 1970, USA 1994 and Korea/Japan 2002. Their reputation is further underlined by finishing as runners-up on two occasions (in 1950 and 1998), winning bronze twice (in 1938 and 1978) and their two fourth-placed finishes (in 1974 and 2014). The legendary Pele heads a long list of Brazilian players to have taken the tournament by storm. They were the first side to join the hosts at Russia 2018, doing so in March 2017. They turned things around to take the CONMEBOL group by storm after a poor start, with coach Tite instrumental in their change in fortunes.

The team
After the disappointment of coming fourth as hosts of the 2014 World Cup, Brazil are out to make amends at Russia 2018. They have a squad bursting with talent – superstar Neymar chief among them - and also have the blend of quality, youth and experience needed to recover their identity and standing.

The coach
Adenor Leonardo Bachi, best known as Tite, assumed the reins in June 2016 replacing Dunga who was dismissed in the wake of the team’s poor performance at the Copa America Centenario. A former defensive midfielder with 11 years playing experience, Tite quit in 1989 to make his debut as coach a year later at Gremio Atletico Guarany. With almost no experience outside Brazil, his most important success came as coach of Corinthians, where he won the Copa Libertadores, the FIFA Club World Cup and two Brazilians Championships, the last one in 2015 during his third stint at the club. Tite is well known for his strict character, professional working ethic and a straight forward relationship with his players.

The stat
21 – The number of times Brazil have reached the FIFA World Cup. A Seleção have been present at every world finals to date and Russia 2018 will bring their tournament tally to 21.

The former stars
Leonidas, Zizinho, Didi, Garrincha, Pele, Rivelino, Zico, Falcao, Romario, Rivaldo, Ronaldo