FIFA World Cup™ finals history
Argentina have participated at 16 FIFA World Cups so far, putting them third on the competition’s all-time appearance list. La Albiceleste have featured at every tournament since Mexico 1970 and graced the inaugural edition at Uruguay 1930, where they finished as runners-up. That was the first of the five Finals Argentina have reached; they were crowned champions as hosts in 1978 and at Mexico 1986, and took the silver medal at Italy 1990 and Brazil 2014, as well as going as far as the Second Round at Spain 1982.

The team
After losing the Copa America Centenario final, a new era of rebuilding has begun for Argentina. Lionel Messi announced he will not wear the national team shirt anymore, so La Albiceleste will undergo a reconstruction process during its fight for a place at Russia 2018.

The coach
Edgardo Bauza, most recently coach of Sao Paulo, was appointed in August 2016. Bauza has twice won the Copa Libertadores, including with San Lorenzo in 2014. He was appointed following the resignation of Gerado Martino, who stepped down in the wake of Argentina's penalty shoot-out defeat in the 2016 Copa America Centenario final.

The stat
42 – The total number of World Cup victories Argentina have recorded, putting them fourth in the all-time list behind Brazil (70 wins), Germany (66) and Italy (45).

The former stars
Guillermo Stabile, Daniel Passarella, Mario Kempes, Ubaldo Fillol, Diego Maradona, Oscar Ruggeri, Jorge Burruchaga, Gabriel Batistuta, Diego Simeone, Javier Zanetti, Roberto Ayala, Hernan Crespo, Juan Riquelme