FIFA World Cup™ history
Mexico are FIFA World Cup finals regulars. They took part in the inaugural edition in Uruguay in 1930 and have featured at the tournament a further 14 times since. Their best performances came as hosts in 1970 and 1986, when they reached the quarter-finals. After missing Italia 1990, they have appeared at the last six editions of the showpiece, but their run was halted in the Round of 16 on each occasion.

The team
With the same coach and core group of players that impressed at Brazil 2014, where they were minutes away from beating the Netherlands to progress to the quarter-finals, Mexico were heavily fancied to book a ticket to Russia 2018. However, one of their challenges en route was to add younger players to the set-up and integrate them into the side's dynamic, attacking style of play, which is based on quick, short passing. As part of this transition, veteran Rafael Marquez handed the mantle over to Javier Hernandez and Andres Guardado as the new leaders. Mexico won through to the 2018 FIFA World Cup Russia with a 1-0 win over Panama on 1 September 2017 securing qualification with three matches remaining. They are the fourth nation to join hosts Russia after Brazil, Iran and Japan.

The coach
Following the departure of Miguel Herrera and Ricardo Ferretti’s spell as caretaker manager in 2015, the Tri job was entrusted to the Colombian Juan Carlos Osorio. Embarking on his coaching career in 2001 with a five-year stint as an assistant at Manchester City, Osorio then enjoyed a brief spell in charge with Millonarios back home before decamping to the USA. After taking up the reins at Chicago Fire he moved on for a two-season stay with New York Red Bulls, returning to his native Colombia in 2009 to coach Once Caldas and steering them to the Torneo Finalización title the following year. Then came a successful tenure at Atletico Nacional, where he oversaw six trophy wins between 2012 and 2015 and cemented his reputation as a meticulous tactician. The Mexico post is his first with a national team.

The stat
 - Prior to qualification for Russia 2018, Mexico had featured at 15 World Cups making them the fourth most experienced country in the competition's history. Only Brazil (20), Italy (18) and Argentina (16) have enjoyed more World Cup appearances.

The former stars
Antonio Carbajal, Hugo Sanchez, Jorge Campos, Cuauhtemoc Blanco