FIFA World Cup™ finals history
El Salvador’s two World Cup appearances to date came at Mexico 1970 and Spain 1982. Losing all three of their group matches on both those occasions, the Central Americans have since reached the final phase of the CONCACAF qualifiers on four occasions, at Italy 1990, USA 1994, France 1998 and South Africa 2010, each time falling short of a place at the finals.

The team
El Salvador are a young side looking to establish themselves. A veteran of two World Cup qualifying competitions, playmaker Arturo Alvarez is one of the leaders of the team, while less experienced players such as defensive duo Milton Molina and Alexander Mendoza, midfielder Alexander Marin and forward Kevin Santamaria all have important roles to play in backing him up. Reaching the final round of the CONCACAF preliminaries for Russia 2018 would be a success.

The coach
The El Salvador job is Albert Roca’s first as a national team head coach, one he took on in May 2014. The Catalan, who had a brief taste of Spanish first division football in his playing days, has plenty of backroom experience. Starting out as a fitness trainer under Frank Rijkaard at Barcelona in 2003, he went on to become one of the Dutchman’s assistant coaches, accompanying him to Turkish giants Galatasaray and the Saudi Arabia national team before striking out on his own.

The stat
1 -
The number of goals El Salvador have scored in their six world finals matches to date. The man on target was Luis Ramirez, in the 10-1 defeat to Hungary at Spain 1982, the biggest victory the competition has seen to date.

The former stars
Jorge Gonzalez, Luis Ramirez, Raul Diaz Arce, Rudis Corrales, Eliseo Quintanilla