Follow us on


Canada's Simeon Jackson (C) flies through the air

FIFA World Cup™ finals history
Canada’s first attempt to qualify for the World Cup came in the preliminary rounds of Sweden 1958. They achieved a degree of stability only in the early 1980s. English coach Tony Waiters brought with him a focus on defence and organisation, and the Canadians’ greatest moment came in 1985 when a pair of wins over Honduras saw the side through to a first-ever World Cup finals in Mexico in 1986. Canada arrived on Mexican soil with a reputation for strong defence, but a rather anemic ability in front of goal. They exited their only finals to date with a trio of losses to France, Hungary and the USSR.

The team
Canada were inconsistent under their previous coach Stephen Hart, but they have found a new style and focus in Spaniard Benito Floro. The team is spearheaded by Atiba Hutchinson of Turkish side Besiktas. He is a tireless runner in midfield and fills in for the loss of retired schemer Dwayne DeRosario. The Canucks can also rely on Julian De Guzman in midfield and Simeon Jackson, who has experience scoring goals abroad.

The coach
Benito Floro is a pragmatic manager who has brought a level of European professionalism into the Canadian camp. In his native Spain he coached such prestigious outfits as Real Madrid, Villarreal and Mallorca, and he also has experience in Mexico with Monterrey, making him no newcomer to the CONCACAF scene.

The stat
0 –
The number of points and goals that Canada took home from their only appearance at World Cup finals, in Mexico in 1986.

The former stars
Bob Lenarduzzi, Branko Segota, Dale Mitchell, Dwayne DeRosario