FIFA World Cup™ finals history
Togo’s one and only appearance at the FIFA World Cup, at Germany 2006, provided a mixture of disappointment, as their young and inexperienced side suffered three straight defeats, and pride, as they demonstrated they could compete with the world’s best. Since then, Les Eperviers have failed to return to football’s most prestigious tournament, but an unprecedented run to the quarter-finals of the 2013 CAF Africa Cup of Nations did give their long-suffering fans something to cheer about.

The team
Togo tend to rely on the experienced trio of Emmanuel Adebayor up front, Alaixys Romao in midfield and Kossi Agassa in goal. They also regularly call on the services of Floyd Ayite, Serge Gakpe and Mathieu Dossevi, who all boast top-tier experience in Europe. The Togolese are hopeful that a new generation of talented footballers will soon emerge to propel them back to the World Cup stage.

The coach
Togo have been without a coach since Tchakala Tchanile's contract expired in 2014 after the Hawks failed to qualify for the 2015 Cup of Nations. Belgian coach Tom Saintfiet was appointed as caretaker coach for Togo's friendly draw with Mauritius in March 2015 and subsequently the FA offered him a full-time contract. The former Ethiopia, Namibia and Malawi coach is assisted by former Togo captain Abalo Dosseh.

The stat
1960 – The year in which Togo became a member of FIFA. The West Africans waited until 1974 to take part in their first qualifying campaign.

The former stars
Edmond Apeti, Frank Fiawoo, Denke Kossi Wazo