FIFA World Cup™ finals history
Côte d'Ivoire endured a 76-year wait before getting their first taste of a FIFA World Cup finals. It could have been longer too, their qualification for Germany 2006 depending on Cameroon missing a last-gasp penalty elsewhere in the final round of games. Since then, Les Eléphants have become heavyweights of the African scene, booking their spots at South Africa 2010 and Brazil 2014 with little fuss. They have yet to make a genuine impact at the main event, however, having exited after the group stage on each occasion thus far. 

The team
Côte d'Ivoire can count on some of the most gifted individuals in African football. Iconic forward Didier Drogba may have called time on his international career, but the likes of Wilfried Bony, Seydou Doumbia and Salomon Kalou have ensured a smooth transition, while Yaya Toure remains a formidable box-to-box midfielder, and dynamic duo Gervinho and Max Gradel can wreak havoc out wide. The situation is a little less rosy in defence, with the retirements of centre-back Kolo Toure and goalkeeper Boubacar Barry leaving telling gaps.

The coach
After the departure of Herve Renard, the Ivorians appointed Michel Dussuyer in July 2015.

The stat
3 – Côte d'Ivoire have qualified for the last three FIFA World Cup final tournaments but are still waiting to grace the knockout phase. They have finished third in their group in each of their previous appearances. 

The former stars
Laurent Pokou, Didier Zokora, Kolo Toure, Didier Drogba