Qualification history
Affiliated to FIFA in 1976, Bangladesh have taken part in every FIFA World Cup™ qualifying competition since 1986 only to fail to progress to the latter stages. However, they have proved capable of springing a surprise or two, a fact borne out when they eliminated Pakistan 3-0 on aggregate to reach the next round on the road to Brazil 2014.

The team
The current squad consists of mainly home-based players with a dozen or so hailing from two-time Bangladesh Premier League champions Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi. Captaining the Bengal Tigers is experienced midfielder Mamunul Islam, who plies his trade with India's Atletico de Kolkata on loan. Nasiruddin Chowdhury is a dependable defender while drawing the most attention is teenager Hemanta Vincent Biswas, who scored the only goal as his side downed Sri Lanka to storm to the semi-finals in February's 2015 Bangabandhu Cup.

The coach

The stat
1 - Captain Islam is the team's only overseas-based player.

The former stars
Kazi Salahuddin, Sheikh Aslam, Sayeed Hassan Kanan, Syed Abdus Samad, Kaiser Hamid