African Zone

The continent’s 52 member associations will play for five available spots at the 2014 FIFA World Cup. The second round is played until September 2013, with the ten Group winners advancing to the final round.

Qualified Teams


Asian Zone

A total of 4.5 spots are available for the 43 Asian teams. The final round is played until 18 June, with the top two teams from each group being directly qualified for the FIFA World Cup. The two third-placed sides will compete in a two-legged tie for the chance to contest in an Intercontinental Play-Off.

Qualified Teams


European Zone
All 53 European member associations will participate in the Preliminary Campaign for the 2014 FIFA World Cup. The qualifiers will consist of nine groups, with 13 teams qualifying for the finals in Brazil.
Qualified Teams

North, Central America and Caribbean

North, Central American and Caribbean Zone
3.5 spots are up for grabs for the region’s 35 teams. The final hexagonal round runs until September 2013, with the three top teams being directly qualified for the FIFA World Cup. The fourth-placed side will enter into an Intercontinental Play-Off against New Zealand.
Qualified Teams


Oceanian Zone

New Zealand has won the qualification in Oceania and will now have to play a Play Off match against the fourth placed team from North, Central America and the Caribbean.

South America

South American Zone
With Brazil automatically qualified as hosts, the remaining nine member associations will play each other on a home and away basis for 4.5 spots between October 2011 and September 2013.
Qualified Teams