Belgium coach Marc Wilmots has made a last-minute change in the goalkeeping department to his 23-man squad for the FIFA World Cup™, the country's Football Federation announced on Tuesday.

Sammy Bossut, 28, of Zulte-Waregem has been included at the expense of Koen Casteels, of German Bundesliga side Hoffenheim, who has not sufficiently recovered from a fractured tibia in time.

"The 23-man list was submitted to FIFA yesterday evening (Monday) before midnight and included the name of Koen Casteels," said a statement on the Federation's website.

"However, a test undertaken by Casteels today showed that the goalkeeper has not sufficiently recovered in time to take part in the World Cup."

Casteels suffered the injury playing for Hoffenheim on 6 April and had surgery the following day.

FIFA rules allow for an injured player to be replaced after their 2 June squad deadline up to 24 hours before a team's first World Cup game.

With Silvio Proto of champions Anderlecht also injured, Bossut was handed his first cap in last week's friendly win against Luxembourg.

The rest of the Belgian squad will be that announced by Wilmots ten days ago, with veteran Club Brugge midfielder Timmy Simons and Radja Nainggolan of Roma the most notable absentees, along with injured Aston Villa striker Christian Benteke.

Belgium squad:

Goalkeepers: Thibaut Courtois (Chelsea), Simon Mignolet (Liverpool), Sammy Bossut (Zulte-Waregem)

Defenders: Toby Alderweireld (Atletico Madrid), Anthony Vanden Borre (Anderlecht), Daniel Van Buyten (Bayern Munich), Vincent Kompany (Manchester City), Jan Vertonghen (Tottenham Hotspur), Thomas Vermaelen (Arsenal), Nicolas Lombaerts (Zenit Saint Petersburg), Laurent Ciman (Standard Liège)

Midfielders: Axel Witsel (Zenit Saint Petersburg), Marouane Fellaini (Manchester United), Steven Defour (Porto), Moussa Dembélé, Nacer Chadli (both Tottenham Hotspur), Kevin De Bruyne (Wolfsburg)

Forwards: Romelu Lukaku (Chelsea), Divock Origi (Lille), Eden Hazard (Chelsea), Kevin Mirallas (Everton), Dries Mertens (Napoli), Adnan Januzaj (Manchester United)

* Squad lists are only official once they have been confirmed and published by FIFA on 5 June at 12:00 CET.