Radamel Falcao has been named in Colombia's 30-man provisional squad for the FIFA World Cup™.

The Monaco striker had looked set to miss the tournament after being sent for knee surgery in the wake of a serious injury suffered against Chasselay Monts d'Or Azergues in January. The former Atletico Madrid man injured his anterior cruicate ligament - the diagnosis for which usually involves between six and nine months out.

Coach Jose Pekerman delivered good news, though, naming the 28-year-old in his initial party despite not having kicked a ball competitively since his injury. Falcao had scored nine goals in 17 appearances for Monaco before his injury - making a steady start to life in France after his £50m move.

He scored nine goals for Colombia in their qualifying campaign and is the stand-out name in the group.

Colombia squad
David Ospina (Nice), Faryd Mondragon (Deportivo Cali), Camilo Vargas (Santa Fe)

Defenders: Mario Yepes (Atalanta), Aquivaldo Mosquera (Club America), Cristian Zapata (AC Milan), Carlos Valdes (San Lorenzo), Amaranto Perea (Cruz Azul), Eder Alvarez Balanta (River Plate), Santiago Arias (PSV Eindhoven), Camilo Zuniga (Napoli), Pablo Armero (Napoli)

Midfielders: Carlos Sanchez (Elche), Fredy Guarin (Inter Milan), Abel Aguilar (Toulouse), Aldo Leao Ramirez (Morelia), Juan Fernando Quintero (Porto), Victor Ibarbo (Cagliari), James Rodriguez (Monaco), Macnelly Torres (Al Shabab), Juan Guilermo Cuadrado (Fiorentina), Edwin Valencia (Fluminense), Alexander Mejia (Nacional), Elkin Soto (Mainz)

Forwards: Radamel Falcao (Monaco), Carlos Bacca (Sevilla), Adrian Ramos (Hertha Berlin), Luis Fernando Muriel (Udinese), Teofilo Gutierrez (River Plate), Jackson Martinez (Porto)

* Squad lists are only official once they have been confirmed and published by FIFA on 16 May at 12:00 CET.