Watford's Ikechi Anya on Friday received his first Scotland call-up after being named in the squad for the FIFA World Cup™ qualifiers against Belgium and Macedonia next month.

Anya, who can play at full-back or in midfield, was born in Glasgow to a Nigerian father and Romanian mother, both of whom are academics.

The 25-year-old began his career at Wycombe Wanderers in the English lower leagues but was released by Scottish manager Paul Lambert and moved to Spain to resurrect his career at the Glenn Hoddle Academy following a short spell with Northampton Town.

Anya impressed in friendly games in Spain and won a contract with Sevilla before moving to Championship club Watford last year after playing spells with several Spanish clubs including Celta Vigo.

"He is a late developer," Scotland manager Gordon Strachan said. "He has been in Spain playing football and I think he was in the Glenn Hoddle foundation out there."

"He is a guy who has seen there is a chance and worked hard.

"He has got pace, technically he is good, he keeps the ball, so they are good credentials for an international player."

Meanwhile, Leeds United forward Ross McCormack has secured a recall to the squad after Kenny Miller, who scored in Scotland's recent 3-2 defeat against England, announced his international retirement.

Strachan is able to experiment with his team as Scotland are already out of the running to qualify for next year's FIFA World Cup in Brazil.

Scotland play their FIFA World Cup qualifiers against Belgium in Glasgow on 6 Septemeber and Macedonia in Skopje on 10 September.

Scotland squad
Matt Gilks (Blackpool), David Marshall (Cardiff City), Allan McGregor (Hull City), Craig Samson (Kilmarnock).

Defenders: Ikechi Anya (Watford), Gordon Greer (Brighton and Hove Albion), Grant Hanley (Blackburn Rovers), Alan Hutton (Aston Villa), Russell Martin (Norwich City), Charlie Mulgrew (Celtic), Steven Whittaker (Norwich City).

Midfielders: Charlie Adam (Stoke City), Barry Bannan (Aston Villa), George Boyd (Hull City), Scott Brown (Celtic), Craig Conway (Cardiff City), Graham Dorrans (West Bromwich Albion), James Forrest (Celtic), James McArthur (Wigan Athletic), James Morrison (West Bromwich Albion), Steven Naismith (Everton), Robert Snodgrass (Norwich City).

Forwards: Leigh Griffiths (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Jamie Mackie (Nottingham Forest), Shaun Maloney (Wigan Athletic), Ross McCormack (Leeds United), Jordan Rhodes (Blackburn Rovers).