Russia coach Fabio Capello has announced a 23-man squad for friendly matches in the United Arab Emirates against Serbia on 15 November and Korea Republic on 19 November.

Capello named an experimental squad, with Igor Smolnikov of Russian Premier League leaders Zenit St Petersburg and Andrei Yeshchenko of Anzhi Makhachkala among those included in the defence.

Further forward, there are call-ups for midfielders Alexander Ryazantsev of Rubin Kazan and Oleg Shatov from Zenit as well as Dynamo Moscow forwards Fyodor Smolov and Alexei Ionov.

Russia finished ahead of Portugal in European Zone FIFA World Cup™ qualifying Group F, ensuring their place in next year's finals in Brazil after missing out on the 2006 and 2010 finals.

Russia squad

Goalkeepers: Igor Akinfeev (CSKA Moscow), Yury Lodygin (Zenit St Petersburg), Sergei Ryzhikov (Rubin Kazan)

Defenders: Alexei Berezutsky, Sergei Ignashevich, Georgy Shchennikov (all CSKA Moscow), Vladimir Granat (Dynamo Moscow), Andrei Yeshchenko (Anzhi Makhachkala), Alexei Kozlov (Kuban Krasnodar), Dmitry Kombarov, Yevgeny Makeyev (both Spartak Moscow), Igor Smolnikov (Zenit St Petersburg)

Midfielders: Denis Glushakov (Spartak Moscow), Dmitry Tarasov (Lokomotiv Moscow), Alexander Ryazantsev (Rubin Kazan), Voktor Faizulin, Oleg Shatov, Roman Shirokov (all Zenit St Petersburg)

Forwards: Alexander Samedov (Lokomotiv Moscow), Alexei Ionov, Alexander Kokorin, Fyodor Smolov (all Dynamo Moscow), Alexander Kerzhakov (Zenit St Petersburg)