Xherdan Shaqiri of Basel was the surprise selection as Ottmar Hitzfeld named his Switzerland squad for the 2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa™ on Thursday.

Striker Marco Streller was ruled out by injury last Thursday, following full-back Christoph Spycher's previous withdrawal.

But the squad contains 13 players with experience of major international tournaments as the Swiss prepare to take on Spain, Chile and Honduras in Group H.

Switzerland squad
Diego Benaglio (Wolfsburg/Germany), Marco Wolfli (Young Boys), Johnny Leoni (FC Zurich)

Defenders: Mario Eggimann (Hannover/Germany), Stephane Grichting (Auxerre/France), Stephan Lichtsteiner (Lazio/Italy), Ludovic Magnin (FC Zurich) Philippe Senderos (Arsenal/England), Steve von Bergen (Hertha Berlin/Germany), Reto Ziegler (Sampdoria/Italy)

Midfielders: Tranquillo Barnetta (Bayer Leverkusen/Germany), Valon Behrami (West Ham/England), Gelson Fernandes (Saint-Etienne/France), Benjamin Huggel (Basel), Gokhan Inler (Udinese/Italy), Marco Padalino (Sampdoria/Italy), Pirmin Schwegler (Eintracht Frankfurt/Germany), Xherdan Shaqiri (Basel)

Forwards: Albert Bunjaku (Nuremberg/Germany), Eren Derdiyok (Bayer Leverkusen/Germany), Alexander Frei (Basel), Blaise Nkufo (FC Twente/Netherlands), Hakan Yakin (Luzern)

Please note that squad lists only become official after they have been submitted to and announced by FIFA.