Fabio Capello has dropped a strong hint that David James will be England's goalkeeper for the start of the 2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa™ by handing him the No1 jersey for the competition.

The 39-year-old was back in the Italian's starting XI for the first time in 13 months for Sunday's 2-1 win over Japan in Graz.

Robert Green has started eight of the past 11 internationals, while Joe Hart has forced his way into contention after an impressive season on loan at Birmingham City. But the former had to be content with the No12 shirt, and the latter No23, when the squad numbers were announced by the Football Association (FA) today.

There were few surprises from No2 to No11, with those recipients likely to start England's curtain-raiser against USA on 12 June.

But Emile Heskey, who played a key role in the qualifiers, had had to be content with the No21, with Peter Crouch getting the No9. The Tottenham Hotspur striker has scored 21 goals in 38 appearances for his country, while the Aston Villa man has managed only seven in 57 internationals.

England squad numbers
1 - David James
2 - Glen Johnson
3 - Ashley Cole
4 - Steven Gerrard
5 - Rio Ferdinand
6 - John Terry
7 - Aaron Lennon
8 - Frank Lampard
9 - Peter Crouch
10 - Wayne Rooney
11 - Joe Cole
12 - Robert Green
13 - Stephen Warnock
14 - Gareth Barry
15 - Matthew Upson
16 - James Milner
17 - Shaun Wright-Phillips
18 - Jamie Carragher
19 - Jermain Defoe
20 - Ledley King
21 - Emile Heskey
22 - Michael Carrick
23 - Joe Hart