Luis Marin, Jaime Valdes and Charles Aranguiz were the surprise names in Marcelo Bielsa's 30-man preliminary squad for the 2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa™.

Union Espanola's Marin won the battle for the third goalkeeping berth over Universidad Catolica's Cristopher Toselli and will travel to South Africa alongside Real Sociedad's Claudio Bravo and Miguel Pinto. Atalanta midfielder Valdes and Colo Colo midfielder Aranguiz, who has just recovered from a knee injury, did not feature in qualifying, but both make the squad.

Flamengo midfielder Claudio Maldonado was not included despite getting over cruciate ligament surgery very quickly. Universidad Catolica defender Hans Martinez and Osvaldo Gonzalez, who reached the Mexican Bicentenario semi-finals with Toluca, also missed out.

Chile squad
Claudio Bravo (Real Sociedad/Spain), Miguel Pinto (Universidad de Chile), Luis Marin (Union Espanola)

Defenders: Roberto Cereceda (Colo Colo), Pablo Contreras (PAOK/Greece), Ismael Fuentes (Universidad Catolica), Mauricio Isla (Udinese/Italy), Gary Medel (Boca Juniors/Argentina), Gonzalo Jara (West Brom/England), Waldo Ponce (Universidad Catolica), Arturo Vidal (Bayer Leverkusen/Germany)

Midfielders: Charles Aranguiz (Colo Colo), Carlos Carmona (Reggina/Italy), Marco Estrada (Universidad de Chile), Matias Fernandez (Sporting Lisbon/Portugal), Gonzalo Fierro (Flamengo/Brazil), Jose Pedro Fuenzalida (Colo Colo), Manuel Iturra (Universidad de Chile), Rodrigo Millar (Colo Colo), Pedro Morales (Dinamo Zagreb/Croatia), Rodrigo Tello (Besiktas/Turkey), Jorge Valdivia (Al-Ain/United Arab Emirates), Jaime Valdes (Atalanta/Italy)

Forwards: Jean Beausejour (America/Mexico), Mark Gonzalez (CSKA Moscow/Russia), Hector Mancilla (Toluca/Mexico), Fabian Orellana (Xerez/Spain), Esteban Paredes (Colo Colo), Alexis Sanchez (Udinese/Italy), Humberto Suazo (Real Zaragoza/Spain)

* Please note that squad lists only become official after they have been submitted to and announced by FIFA.