Slobodan Rajkovic has expressed his delight at a season which included an Eredivisie title medal and could end with him at the FIFA World Cup™ finals.

Rajkovic spent the recently-concluded campaign at FC Twente on loan from Chelsea and played a part in their domestic success as they finished a point ahead of Ajax. He was then a surprise inclusion in Serbia coach Radomir Antic's provisional FIFA World Cup squad.

"I was pleasantly surprised that I found myself among the 30 players," admitted the 21-year-old defender in the Blic newspaper. Honestly, I did not expect at the start of the season that I would experience this stunning finish.

"The title with Twente, and the success of Chelsea - and the fact that I would work with Antic and the Serbian team. I consider that a success whether I get to go to the World Cup or not. I have not worked with Antic yet but I have a great desire to show him that his selection was right. I am completely ready. I have played enough this season to be in good form."

Serbia were drawn in Group D alongside Germany, Ghana and Australia.

Serbia provisional squad: Vladimir Stojkovic (Wigan), Zeljko Brkic (Vojvodina), Bojan Isailovic (Zaglebie Lubin), Andjelko Djuricic (Leiria); Branislav Ivanovic (Chelsea), Antonio Rukavina (1860 Munich), Nemanja Vidic (Manchester United), Neven Subotic (Borussia Dortmund), Aleksandar Lukovic (Udinese), Jagos Vukovic (PSV Eindhoven), Ivan Obradovic (Real Zaragoza), Aleksandar Kolarov (Lazio), Slobodan Rajkovic (Chelsea); Dejan Stankovic (Inter Milan), Gojko Kacar (Hertha Berlin), Nenad Milijas (Wolves), Zdravko Kuzmanovic (Stuttgart), Radosav Petrovic (Partizan Belgrade), Milos Krasic (CSKA Moscow), Zoran Tosic (Manchester United), Milos Ninkovic (Dynamo Kiev), Milan Jovanovic (Standard Liege), Nemanja Matic (Chelsea), Nemanja Tomic (Partizan Belgrade); Nikola Zigic (Valencia), Marko Pantelic (Ajax), Danko Lazovic (Zenit St Petersburg), Dejan Lekic (Red Star Belgrade), Miralem Sulejmani (Ajax), Dragan Mrdja (Vojvodina).

* Please note that squad lists only become official after they have been submitted to and announced by FIFA.