Injured defender Simon Kjaer has been included in Denmark's final 23-man squad for the 2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa™. The 21-year-old suffered a knee injury during his nation's 2-0 friendly win over Senegal yesterday, and will undergo scans later this week to reveal the extent of damage to his ligaments.

The Palermo defender would likely be coach Morten Olsen's first choice to partner Liverpool's Daniel Agger in central defence should he be fit. Denmark are able to replace Kjaer if he is ruled out, although any such move would have to be made before their opening game against the Netherlands on 14 June.

Olsen cut four players from his squad today, with goalkeeper Kim Christensen, midfielders Michael Silberbauer and Michael Krohn-Dehli, and striker Morten Rasmussen all omitted.

Denmark will also play Japan and Cameroon in Group E.

Denmark squad
 Thomas Sorensen (Stoke City), Stefan Andersen (Brondby), Jesper Christiansen (FC Copenhagen)

Defenders: Daniel Agger (Liverpool), Simon Kjaer (Palermo), Per Kroldrup (Fiorentina), Lars Jacobsen (Blackburn Rovers), Simon Busk Poulsen (AZ), William Kvist Jorgensen (FC Copenhagen), Patrick Mtiliga (Malaga)

Midfielders: Daniel Jensen (Werder Bremen), Christian Poulsen (Juventus), Christian Eriksen (Ajax), Jakob Poulsen (AGF), Martin Jorgensen (AGF), Mikkel Beckmann (Randers), Thomas Enevoldsen (Groningen), Thomas Kahlenberg (Wolfsburg), Dennis Rommedahl (Ajax), Jesper Gronkjaer (FC Copenhagen)

Forwards: Jon Dahl Tomasson (Feyenoord), Nicklas Bendtner (Arsenal), Soeren Larsen (Duisburg).

Please note that squad lists only become official after they have been submitted to and announced by FIFA.