Each of the 32 nations at the 2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa™ is permitted to name a 23-man squad in their bid for glory.

Provisional squads of 30 were delivered to FIFA by 11 May, 30 days before the start of the competition. The final squads will not be known until 1 June.

Should a team suffer a serious injury, they have until 24 hours before the kick-off of their first game to bring in a replacement, subject to FIFA approval, and those players do not need to be from the original list of 30.