There will be 32 teams at the 2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa™, with Uruguay having clinched the 32nd and final place.

The FIFA World Cup was expanded to 32 teams in 1998. The first tournament, which took place in Uruguay in 1930, featured 13 teams in four groups. The hosts emerged victorious, beating Argentina 4-2 in the final.