Hamburg defender Dennis Aogo and Bayern Munich youngster Holger Badstuber were the surprise names in Germany coach Joachim Low's provisional 27-man squad for the 2010 FIFA World Cup™, which was announced today.

Low also named Bayern Munich veteran Hans-Jorg Butt among the three goalkeepers who are all vying to become the new number one after Rene Adler had to pull out due to injury.

The provisional Germany squad for South Africa 2010 is:

Goalkeepers: Hans-Jorg Butt, Manuel Neuer, Tim Wiese

Defenders: Per Mertesacker, Heiko Westermann, Philipp Lahm, Jerome Boateng, Andrea Beck, Arne Friedrich, Serdar Tasci, Marcell Jansen, Holger Badstuber, Dennis Aogo.

Midfielders: Michael Ballack, Sami Khedira, Piotr Trochowski, Marko Marin, Bastian Schweinsteiger, Christian Trasch, Mesut Ozil, Toni Kroos.

Forwards: Lukas Podolski, Miroslav Klose, Stefan Kiessling, Cacau, Thomas Muller, Mario Gomez.

*Please note that squad lists only become official after they have been submitted to and announced by FIFA.