Korea Republic have named a preliminary squad of 30 players for the 2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa™ which contains few surprises.

Coach Huh Jung-Moo, whose side were drawn in Group B alongside Argentina, Greece and Nigeria, included no uncapped players. Park Ji-Sung of Manchester United and Monaco's Park Chu-Young head a 13-strong foreign contingent, while 2002 FIFA World Cup hero Ahn Jung-hwan is also included as he bids for a third consecutive appearance on the global stage.

Huh will reduce the size of the squad to 23 after the Taeguk Warriors take on Ecuador in a FIFA World Cup warm-up match in Seoul on 16 May. "The Ecuador game is the last opportunity for the domestic players," said Huh. "We will also be checking the condition of the foreign-based stars."

There is no place for former Fulham and Reading star Seol Ki-Hyeon, who is still recovering from a knee operation. "Seol hasn't been included because he hasn't played as he is still recovering and hasn't trained. Of course, it is regrettable for the players who haven't made the squad but those 30 players have the opportunity to play a big part for the national team."

South Korea 30-man preliminary FIFA World Cup squad:
Kim Young-Kwang (Ulsan), Lee Woon-Jae (Suwon), Jung Sung-Ryong (Seongnam); Kang Min-Soo (Suwon), Kwak Tae-Hwi (Kyoto), Kim Dong-Jin (Ulsan), Kim Hyung-Il (Pohang), Oh Beom-Seok (Ulsan), Lee Young-Pyo (Al Hilal), Lee Jung-Soo (Kashima Antlers), Hwang Jae-Won (Pohang), Cho Won-Hee (Wigan), Cha Du-Ri (SC Freiburg), Cho Yong-Hyung (Jeju); Koo Ja-Cheol (Jeju), Ki Sung-Yong (Celtic), Kim Bo-Kyung (Oita), Kim Nam-Il (Tom Tomsk), Shin Hung-Min (Pohang), Kim Jae-Sung (Pohang), Kim Jung-Woo (Gwangju), Lee Chung-Yong (Bolton) Kim Chi-Woo (Seoul), Park Ji-Sung (Manchester United); Park Ju-Young (AS Monaco), Ahn Jung-Hwan (Dalian Shide), Lee Seung-Ryul (Seoul), Yeom Ki-Hun (Suwon), Lee Keun-Ho (Jubilo Iwata), Lee Dong-Guk (Jeonbuk).