New Zealand coach Ricki Herbert has announced a 19-man squad for next month's 2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa™ play-off matches against Bahrain.

Strikers Chris Killen and Chris Wood return after injury forced the duo to miss the recent 3-1 win in Jordan, meaning the only absentee for the All Whites is suspended goalkeeper Glen Moss.

Striker Rory Fallon and attacking midfielder Michael McGlinchey both retain their places after impressive debuts in Amman, with Jacob Spoonley coming in for Moss leaving Mark Paston as the most experienced goalkeeper in the squad. Blackburn Rovers defender Ryan Nelsen will captain the side having missed the FIFA Confederations Cup with injury.

"We've had opportunities over the last four years to shape the team to where it's got to now," said Herbert. "It's an incredibly important couple of fixtures and I'm delighted to be able to name the squad."

Bahrain will host New Zealand in Manama on 10 October before the return leg in Wellington on 14 November.

New Zealand squad
James Bannatyne (Team Wellington), Mark Paston (Wellington Phoenix), Jacob Spoonley (Auckland City)

Defenders: Andrew Boyens (New York Red Bulls/USA), Tony Lochhead (Wellington Phoenix), David Mulligan (Wellington Phoenix), Ryan Nelsen (Blackburn Rovers/England), Aaron Scott (Waitakere United), Ben Sigmund (Wellington Phoenix), Ivan Vicelich (Auckland City)

Midfielders: Andy Barron (Team Wellington), Leo Bertos (Wellington Phoenix), Tim Brown (Wellington Phoenix), Simon Elliott (San Jose Earthquakes/USA), Michael McGlinchey (Central Coast Mariners/Australia)

Forwards: Rory Fallon (Plymouth Argyle/England), Chris Killen (Celtic/Scotland), Shane Smeltz (Gold Coast United/Australia), Chris Wood (West Bromwich Albion/England)