Harry Kewell has been named in the Australia squad to face Uzbekistan next month in a FIFA World Cup™ qualifier that can seal the Socceroos' passage to South Africa 2010.

Victory against the Uzbeks in Sydney on 1 April would guarantee Australia's qualification, prompting coach Pim Verbeek to call on Kewell's attacking flair. The Turkey-based midfielder missed the Socceroos' last qualifier, a dour 0-0 draw against Japan, through injury.

The 22-man squad also included goalkeeper Mark Schwarzer, who will become the longest-serving Socceroo when he lines up against Uzbekistan.  The fixture will mark 15 years and 244 days since the 36-year-old made his international debut, beating the previous record set by Tony Vidmar by one day.

In keeping with Verbeek's publicly-stated doubts about the quality of the domestic A-League, the squad does not contain a single Australia-based player. Verbeek used A-League players in a 2011 AFC Asian Cup qualifier against Kuwait earlier this month, only for them to crash to a 1-0 loss and leave Australia bottom of their group.

Squad: Michael Beauchamp (Aalborg/DEN), Mark Bresciano (Palermo/ITA), Jacob Burns (SC Unirea Valahorun/ROM), Tim Cahill (Everton/ENG), David Carney (Norwich/ENG), Scott Chipperfield (FC Basel/SUI), Chris Coyne (Colchester/ENG), Jason Culina (PSV Eindhoven/NED), Adam Federici (Reading/ENG), Richard Garcia, (Hull City/ENG), Brett Holman (AZ Alkmaar/NED), Mile Jedinak (Genclerbirligi/TUR), Josh Kennedy (Karlsruhe/GER), Harry Kewell (Galatasaray/TUR), Scott McDonald (Celtic/SCO), Lucas Neill (West Ham/ENG), Jade North (Incheon United/KOR), Michael Petkovic (Sizasspor/TUR), Mark Schwarzer (Fulham/ENG), Mile Sterjovski (Derby/ENG), Carl Valeri (US Grosseto/ITA), Luke Wilkshire (Dynamo Moscow/RUS)