Newly-appointed Kenya coach Antoine Hey has wasted no time in naming his first squad, opting for a mix of local and overseas-based players for next month's showdown with Tunisia.

The Kenyans are the first of the 20 African contenders to declare their squad for the opening matches of the final group phase, with their German coach making his selection for the 28 March meeting in Nairobi just a week after being appointed. Hey's domestic players will begin their preparatory work on Monday but club commitments will keep his international contingent away until just a week before the vital FIFA World Cup qualifier.

The list does include influential striker Dennis Oliech, who threatened not to play if previous coach Francis Kimanzi was not reinstated. Kimanzi was sacked after a dispute with officials last month.

The Harambee Stars, who also face Mozambique and Nigeria in Group B,  have named 15 overseas-based players in the squad. Only the group winner qualifies for the 2010 FIFA World Cup finals in South Africa but the top three in the group go on to compete in the CAF Africa Cup of Nations in Angola.

Noah Ayuko (Sher), Wilson Oburu (Sofapaka), Sammy Ochieng (Tusker), David Okello (Thika United), Arnold Origi (Moss FK, Norway).

Defenders: Jockins Atudo (Tusker), Anthony Kimani (Mathare United), Mulinge Ndetto (Ulinzi), John Njoroge (Tusker), Edgar Ochieng (Mathare United), Pascal Ochieng (Kenya Commercial Bank), Abdulatiff Omar (Thika United), George Owino (Young Africans, Tanzania), Julius Owino (Gor Mahia), Joseph Shikokoti (Tusker)

Midfielders: Mike Baraza (Young Africans, Tanzania), Ali Breik (Bandari), Anthony Dafaa (Bandari), Hillary Echesa (PDRM, Indonesia), Zakayo Kisekeli (Agro-Chemical), Austin Makacha (Mathare United), Macdonald Mariga (Parma, Italy), Simon Mburu (Tusker), Jamal Mohammed (Enkoping SK, Sweden), Osborne Monday (Azam, Tanzania), Moses Odhiambo (APR FC, Rwanda), Dennis Okoth (Nairobi City Stars), Andrew Oyombe (Mathare United), Abdi Simba (Sofapaka), Evans Wandera (Sofapaka)

Strikers: Boniface Ambani (Young Africans, Tanzania), Sebastian Muchera (AFC Leopards), Victor Mugabe (Germinaal Beerschot, Belgium), Bernard Mwalala (Young Africans, Tanzania), John Mwangi (Chemelil), Patrick Oboya (Siad Most, Czech Republic), Francis Ochieng (Ulinzi), Dennis Oliech (AJ Auxerre, France), Francis Ouma (Azam, Tanzania), Allan Wanga (Petro Atletico, Angola)