Cristiano Ronaldo has been included in the Portugal squad for their 2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa™ play-off against Bosnia-Herzegovina.

The Real Madrid forward faces a race to be fit for the two games on 14 and 18 November as he has an ankle injury. Medical reports from the Spanish side yesterday confirmed he would be out of action for at least two more weeks.

Ronaldo has missed Madrid's last eight matches after suffering an injury to his right ankle during the UEFA Champions League match with Marseille on 30 September, and then aggravating it while playing for Portugal in their South Africa 2010 qualifier against Hungary on 10 October.

The world's most expensive player met on Thursday with Dutch specialist Professor Niek van Dijk in Amsterdam after tests conducted by Madrid on Wednesday revealed that Ronaldo's injury had not improved since undergoing an MRI scan a week before. Van Dijk, who operated on the 24-year-old's right ankle in the summer of 2008, advised Ronaldo to continue his treatment before returning for a fresh evaluation in two weeks' time.

Portugal coach Carlos Queiroz revealed yesterday, however, that the injury would not stop him from naming Ronaldo in his 23-man squad, so important is the former Manchester United man to his country. Valencia full-back Miguel, Wolfsburg centre-back Ricardo Costa and Werder Bremen striker Hugo Almeida returned to the squad.

Portugal take on Bosnia-Herzegovina in Lisbon on Saturday with the return leg in Zenica four days later.

Portugal squad

Hilario (Chelsea/ENG), Eduardo (Braga), Rui Patricio (Sporting Lisbon)

Ricardo Costa (Wolfsburg/GER), Bruno Alves (Porto), Paulo Ferreira (Chelsea/ENG), Miguel (Valencia/ESP), Pepe (Real Madrid/ESP), Ricardo Carvalho (Chelsea/ENG), Rolando (Porto)

Deco (Chelsea/ENG), Duda (Malaga/ESP), Joao Moutinho (Sporting Lisbon), Fabio Coentrao (Benfica), Miguel Veloso (Sporting Lisbon), Raul Meireles (Porto), Tiago (Juventus/ITA)

Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid/ESP), Liedson (Sporting Lisbon), Nani (Manchester United/ENG), Hugo Almeida (Werder Bremen/GER), Simao Sabrosa (Atletico Madrid/ESP), Edinho (Malaga/ESP)