Italy coach Marcello Lippi has named his 24-man squad for the 2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa™ qualifiers away to the Republic of Ireland on 10 October and at home to Cyprus four days later. The Azzurri welcome back AC Milan midfielder Gennaro Gattuso, who missed last month's qualifiers against Georgia and Bulgaria with an ankle injury.

Genoa centre-back Salvatore Bocchetti and Fiorentina defender Alessandro Gamberini return to the national team while Italy captain Fabio Cannavaro has been included in the squad, but will be unavailable for the match in Dublin through suspension.

The world champions go into Saturday's showdown four points clear of the Republic at the top of Group 8, needing only a point to assure themselves of a place in next year's finals. Italy end their qualifying campaign in Parma against Cyprus.

Italy squad
Gigi Buffon (Juventus), Morgan De Sanctis (Napoli), Federico Marchetti (Cagliari)

Defenders: Fabio Cannavaro, Giorgio Chiellini, Fabio Grosso and Nicola Legrottaglie (all Juventus), Salvatore Bocchetti (Genoa), Alessandro Gamberini (Fiorentina), Davide Santon (Inter Milan), Gianluca Zambrotta (AC Milan)

Midfielders: Mauro German Camoranesi and Claudio Marchisio (Juventus), Gaetano D'Agostino and Simone Pepe (Udinese), Daniele De Rossi (Roma), Gennaro Gattuso and Andrea Pirlo (AC Milan), Angelo Palombo (Sampdoria)

Forwards: Antonio Di Natale (Udinese), Alberto Gilardino (Fiorentina), Vincenzo Iaquinta (Juventus), Fabio Quagliarella (Napoli), Giuseppe Rossi (Villarreal/ESP)