The Cape Verde Islands have named their squad for the upcoming FIFA World Cup™ qualifier against Cameroon with new coach Joao de Deus turning to the country's massive diaspora in search of new players.

The Portuguese coach, who will have a warm-up match in Luxembourg on May 27, has named eight uncapped players in his 24-man squad for the two matches.

It includes the French-born Mickael Tavares, who has just helped Sparta Prague to win the championship in the Czech Republic, and the 29-year-old Cecilio Lopes from Dutch club SC Heerenveen, who was born in Rotterdam but whose father hails from the Cape Verde Islands.

Striker Toy, once on the books of Lisbon giants Benfica, also gets a chance for a first cap at the age of 30. He now plays at Olhanense in Portugal's second division.

Newcomers also include 27-year-old Ricardo from Beira Mar; Guy Ramos from Dutch second division club FC Dordrecht; Gilberto Reis, who has played all his career in Switzerland and Luxembourg-based Ronny.

Back from injury is key striker Dady, who plays at Osasuna in Spain, and will be the king pin for the islanders. He missed the country's last major international, a 4-0 defeat by Guinea last September in the qualidiers for the 2008 CAF Africa Cup of Nations finals in Ghana.

The Cape Verde Islands' match against Cameroon in Group 1 of the African Zone qualifiers is in Yaounde on Saturday 31 May.


Ernesto (Estoril, Portugal), Fock (Mindelense), Foryou (BK 46, Finland)

Nando (Al Sailya, Qatar), Gilberto Reis (Yverdon Sport, Switzerland), Ricardo (Beira Mar, Portugal), Stopira (Sporting Praia), Toy Adao (Académica Mindelo), Varela (Estoril, Portugal)

Midfielders: Babanco (Sporting Praia), Valter Borges (Batuque), Dario (Sporting Praia), Emerson Gabei (Beira Mar, Portugal), Lito (Academica Coimbra, Portugal), Marco Soares (Pandurii Targu Jiu, Indonesia), Nene (Enosis Neon Paralimni, Cyprus), Guy Ramos (FC Dordrecht, Netherlands), Ronny (F91 Dudelange, Luxembourg), Mickael Tavares (Slavia Prague, Czech Republic)

Strikers: Dady (Osasuna, Spain), Hernani (Beira Mar, Portugal), Cecilio Lopes (SC Heerenveen, Netherlands), Silvino Soares (RS Waasland, Belgium), Toy (Olhanense)