Australia on Tuesday named a squad of A-League players for the match against Singapore later this month, giving them chance to stake their claims for an upcoming 2010 FIFA World Cup™ qualifier against China.

Coach Pim Verbeek said the Singapore match was a vital opportunity for A-League players to press for inclusion over their European-based counterparts against China in Kunming on 26 March.

"I will not finalise my squad for the match against China until after the Singapore game so these players have a chance to impress and be included in the team for China," Verbeek said.

He said some European-based players may be included in the Singapore squad if early releases with their clubs could be negotiated.

Australia football squad named Tuesday to play Singapore in a friendly at the National Stadium, Singapore, on 22 March:

Australia: Nigel Boogard (Central Coast Mariners), Leigh Broxham (Melbourne Victory), Nathan Burns (Adelaide United), Billy Celeski (Melbourne Victory), Ante Covic (Newcastle Jets), Bruce Djite (Adelaide United), Tarek Elrich (Newcastle Jets), Adam Griffiths (Newcastle Jets), James Holland (Newcastle Jets), Mile Jedinak (Central Coast Mariners), Jade North (Newcastle Jets), Nikita Rukavytsya (Perth Glory), Archie Thompson (Melbourne Victory), Nikolai Topor-Stanley (Perth Glory), Tando Velaphi (Perth Glory), Ruben Zadkovich (TBC), Michael Zullo (Queensland Roar).