2006 FIFA World Cup Germany™

9 June - 9 July

Media Release

Fédération Internationale de Football Association

FIFA-Strasse 20 - P.O. Box - 8044 Zurich - Switzerland

Tel: +41-(0)43-222 7777 - Fax: +41-(0)43.222 7878

2006 FIFA World Cup™

CHF 24.5 million for the 2006 world champions

The winners of the 2006 FIFA World Cup Germany™ will take home prize money amounting to CHF 24.5 million. FIFA General Secretary Urs Linsi made this announcement after the meeting of the Organising Committee for the FIFA World Cup™ in Leipzig today.

The runners-up will pocket CHF 22.5 million while the teams coming third and fourth will each receive CHF 21.5 million.

The total prize money to be awarded by FIFA amounts to CHF 332 million. Advance payments totalling 32 million (one million for each association taking part) will be made as a contribution towards preparing the finalist teams. Each association will receive CHF 2 million per match in the first round and can thus rely on a firm income of at least CHF 7 million. The teams that lose in the round of sixteen (9-16) will each earn CHF 8.5 million whereas the losing quarter-finalists (5-8) will each pick up CHF 11.5 million.

FIFA will also bear the costs of travel for each delegation comprising 45 people as well as partial costs of accommodation.

Of the amount of CHF 300 million, 5 per cent (CHF 15 million) will be set aside for an insurance fund intended to compensate clubs via their associations if any of their players suffer injury during the World Cup finals. Once compensation has been paid out for such cases, the remaining amount will be distributed among the associations.