2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil™

12 June - 13 July

2014 FIFA World Cup™

55 days to go

© Getty Images

55 FIFA World Cup™ matches have gone to extra time – including one-third of its 18 Finals.

Italy, England, Argentina and Spain used the additional 30 minutes to seize the Trophy in 1934, 1966, 1978 and 2010 respectively, while, following goalless extra time periods in 1994 and 2006, Brazil and Italy emerged triumphant on penalties.

*Gli Azzurri *have gone to extra time a record 11 times in the World Cup, losing in it only once, courtesy of Ahn Jung-Hwan’s headed golden goal for Korea Republic in the Round of 16 in 2002 – an act that got him sacked by his Italian club Perugia.

Germany, England and France have gone to extra time nine, eight and seven times respectively, while Argentina, Brazil and Spain have done six times apiece.

Explore this topic

Recommended Stories

2002 FIFA World Cup™

Ahn's golden moment

28 Jan 2010

1994 FIFA World Cup™

Baggio wakes to ground Super Eagles

08 Jun 2010

1934 FIFA World Cup™

Oriundi help crown 11th-hour Italy

29 Apr 2010

2006 FIFA World Cup™

Italy wreck German fairy tale

04 Sep 2015

1990 FIFA World Cup™

The day Naples belonged to Argentina

14 Feb 2014

1990 FIFA World Cup™

England edge riveting rumble of lion prides

25 Apr 2007

1986 FIFA World Cup™

France edge Brazil in epic Jalisco duel

05 May 2007

1982 FIFA World Cup™

Schu scars and shines in Seville scorcher

05 May 2007

1970 FIFA World Cup™

The insane Game of the Century

05 May 2007

1938 FIFA World Cup™

Leonidas ignites legendary fire

11 Mar 2010

1966 FIFA World Cup™

'It is now' for England

10 Sep 2015