Agoos enters US Hall of Fame

Jeff Agoos, who played on five Major League Soccer championship teams, and Joy Fawcett, twice an Olympic champion and FIFA Women's World Cup winner, have been elected to the US Soccer Hall of Fame. Agoos was named on 108 of 159 ballots cast by a selection committee while Fawcett received 106 votes, the minimum 66.7 per cent of support needed for induction.

Enshrinement ceremonies will be hld on 2 August. Yugoslavian-born US player Preki Rasosavljevic had 96 votes, ten shy of the magic mark needed to enter the hall.

Agoos, now director of the New York Red Bulls of MLS, earned 134 caps for the US national team, including stints in the 1998 and 2002 FIFA World Cups™ and the 2000 Sydney Olympics. He won three MLS titles with DC United and two more with the San Jose Earthquakes before retiring in 2005 after his lone season with New York.

Fawcett was on the winning US squad in the 1991 and 1999 FIFA Women's World Cups and the gold-medal teams at the 1996 Atlanta and 2004 Athens Olympics. Her 239 caps rank fourth in US women's history.