CAF names awards shortlists

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) has named Togo international Emmanuel Adebayor and Michael Essien of Ghana in a final shortlist for the 2008 CAF African Player of the Year Award. Egypt's Mohamed Aboutrika, who won the CAF Africa Cup of Nations and the CAF Champions League last year, is the other nominee.

The awards ceremony will take place in Lagos on 10 February. In other categories Egypt, Cameroon and Nigeria are in the running for the National Team Award while Al Ahly of Egypt will jostle for the Club of the Year along with Tunisia's Club Sportive Sfaxien and Cotonsport of Cameroon.

Chelsea's Ivorian striker Salomon Kalou, Cameroon's Stephane Mbia of Rennes and Nigeria's Victor Nsofor, who plays for Inter Milan, will contest for the Young Player award. Nominees for Coach of the Year are Hassan Shehata (Egypt), Jose Manuel (Al Ahly) and Alain Ouembledon (Cotonsport).