Krkic wins call-up, Raul overlooked
© Foto-net

Spain's new coach Vicente del Bosque has included Barcelona sensation Bojan Krkic in his squad for next week's friendly against Denmark. The fixture will be the team's first since winning UEFA EURO 2008.

Krkic, who turns 18 later this month, has yet to win his first cap, but was called into the squad by former coach Luis Aragones for a friendly against France in February. The forward, whose Serbian father, also named Bojan Krkic, played for Crvena Zvezda, missed out on the European finals in June due to fatigue.

We did not think it was the right time to call on him
Spain coach Vicente Del Bosque on leaving Raul out of his squad.

Del Bosque also included three new faces, namely defenders Andoni Iraola and Fernando Amorebieta, both of Athletic Bilbao, and Sevilla winger Diego Capel, in his squad. But there still was no place for Real Madrid icon Raul, who was sidelined under Aragones and has not played for Spain since September 2006. "," said del Bosque, who was the forward's coach at Real Madrid.

Del Bosque insisted last month that the door is not closed to the 30-year-old Real captain, the leading all-time scorer for Spain with 44 goals. Arsenal's Cesc Fabregas and Valencia's defender Carlos Marchena are unavailable due to injury.

Del Bosque replaced Aragones after Spain's 1-0 victory over Germany in the final of EURO 2008. "We must not just be the best but also a point of reference for good football," Del Bosque insisted.

Spain squad
Iker Casillas (Real Madrid), Pepe Reina (Liverpool/ENG)

Defenders: Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), Joan Capdevila (Villarreal), Raul Albiol (Valencia), Carles Puyol (Barcelona), Fernando Navarro (Sevilla), Juanito (Real Betis), Andoni Iraola (Athletic Bilbao), Fernando Amorebieta (Athletic Bilbao)

Midfielders: Andres Iniesta (Barcelona), Xavi (Barcelona), David Silva (Valencia), Santi Cazorla (Villarreal), Xabi Alonso (Liverpool/ENG), Ruben de la Red (Real Madrid), Marcos Senna (Villarreal), Diego Capel (Sevilla)

Strikers: David Villa (Valencia), Daniel Guiza (Fenerbahce), Fernando Torres (Liverpool/ENG), Bojan Krkic (Barcelona)