Australia's A-League is set to expand to 10 teams for the 2009-2010 season, with a North Queensland team receiving provisional admission to the competition, Football Federation Australia said on Thursday.

The FFA said it had awarded negotiating status to the North Queensland Football Club in its bid to have a Townsville-based team in the national league by late next year. The club is now in line to join Gold Coast Galaxy as the two new teams added to the current eight-strong premiership, which kicked off in 2005-06.

FFA chief executive Ben Buckley said the new entity had a month to finalise its submission to the federation. Buckley claimed that the A-League has the capacity to grow into a 12-team competition.