River Plate win Clausura

Argentinian giants River Plate won the Clausura football championship on Sunday following a 2-1 win against Olimpo.

Diego Buonanotte scored both goals for River Plate in the 16th and 78th minutes while Uruguay's Josemir Lujambio pulled one back for Olimpo in the 65th minute.

To win the title, River Plate also needed for Estudiantes to draw or lose against Colon de Santa Fe, and the match finished 0-0.

The Argentinian championship is divided into two competitions, the Apertura (opening championship) in the first half of the season, and the Clausura (closing championship) for the second.