Galatasaray claimed their 17th championship title Saturday as the Turkish league drew to a close. The Istanbul giants beat Genclerbirligi Oftasspor 2-0, finishing the season with 79 points, six points ahead of arch-rivals and last year's champions Fenerbahce, who lost 0-2 against Trabzonspor.

Galatasaray and Fenerbahce will now represent Turkey in the UEFA Champions League next season. The third place was clinched by the third major Istanbul club, Besiktas, who defeated Vestel Manisaspor 5-1 and became the second Turkish team to go to the UEFA Cup.

The first was Kayseripor, who won the berth when they claimed the Turkey Cup on Wednesday.