France call up four new caps

French coach Raymond Domenech has called up four new faces into his 39-strong squad for full and A internationals against England and Mali next week.

Lyon midfielder Mathieu Bodmer, exciting Marseille striker Mathieu Valbuena, and defenders Mathieu Delpierre (Stuttgart) and Adil Rami (Lille) all make the enlarged squad for the games at Stade Charlety and the Stade de France respectively.

The games offer the last chance for players to impress on the international stage before the squad announcement for UEFA EURO 2008 in early May.

Two notable omissions were those of Bayern Munich defender Willy Sagnol, who was on the bench in Saturday Bundesliga action but whom Domenech described as injured, and Juventus striker David Trezeguet.

Trezeguet, who has winners medals from the 1998 FIFA World Cup and EURO 2000, has said he has no interest in playing for the A team, but Domenech insisted the door was not closed to the striker and that he remained an "interesting option".

"We must try to see some options for the future," Domenech added of his call-ups.

"Some players in certain positions will call a halt to their careers quicker than others, so we mustn't find ourselves in a situation where one generation leaves and we are left having to urgently find replacements for them.

"We want to see where they are, what they're capable of doing at the highest level," he said.

France squad:

Goalkeepers: Gregory Coupet (Lyon), Mickael Landreau (PSG), Sebastien Frey (Fiorentina/ITA), Steve Mandanda (Marseille)

Defenders: Eric Abidal (Barcelona/ESP), Jean-Alain Boumsong (Lyon), Gael Clichy (Arsenal/ENG), Francois Clerc (Lyon), Mathieu Delpierre (Stuttgart/GER), Julien Escude (Seville/ESP), Patrice Evra (Manchester United/ENG), William Gallas (Arsenal/ENG), Gael Givet (Marseille), Philippe Mexes (AS Roma/ITA), Adil Rami (Lille), Bakary Sagna (Arsenal/ENG), Sebastien Squillaci (Lyon), Lilian Thuram (Barcelona/ESP)

Midfielders: Mathieu Bodmer (Lyon), Alou Diarra (Bordeaux), Lassana Diarra (Portsmouth/ENG), Mathieu Flamini (Arsenal/ENG), Claude Makelele (Chelsea/ENG), Rio Mavuba (Lille), Samir Nasri (Marseille), Jeremy Toulalan (Lyon), Jerome Rothen (PSG), Patrick Vieira (Inter Milan/ITA)

Strikers: Nicolas Anelka (Chelsea/ENG), Hatem Ben Arfa (Lyon), Karim Benzema (Lyon), Jimmy Briand (Rennes), Djibril Cisse (Marseille), Thierry Henry (Barcelona/ESP), Florent Malouda (Chelsea/ENG), Sidney Govou (Lyon), Franck Ribery (Bayern Munich/GER), Louis Saha (Manchester Utd/ENG), Mathieu Valbuena (Marseille)