Fenerbahce, Beskitas replaced by APOEL, Tromso
© Getty Images

Cypriot side APOEL Nicosia will replace Turkish club Fenerbahce in the UEFA Europa League group stage draw to take place in Monaco on Friday, according to the European confederation.

APOEL were drawn from all the teams eliminated in the play-off round of the Europa League to replace Fenerbahce, whose appeal against exclusion was rejected on Wednesday by the Court of Arbitration for Sport (CAS).

Another Turkish club, Besiktas, were also ruled out of the competition after CAS rejected their appeal against exclusion as well. Their place will now be taken by Norwegian side Tromso, who had lost to Beskitas in the play-off round.

Both Fenerbahce and Besiktas were excluded for their roles in a domestic match-fixing scandal in 2011.