Anderlecht secure title, Brugge into Europa

Anderlecht played out a 1-1 draw with nearest challengers Zulte-Waregem this afternoon to clinch their 32nd Belgian league title.

The hosts came into the Pro League decider with a two-point cushion at the summit and knowing they only needed to avoid defeat to be sure of wrapping up top spot in the championship play-off.

Anderlecht made life hard for themselves, however, falling behind to a 56th-minute Jens Naessens goal before pulling level through Lucas Biglia two minutes later.

They then had to play the final ten minutes a man light after Cheikhou Kouyate was dismissed, but Zulte-Waregem failed to break through a second time as Anderlecht took the title and a direct ticket to the group stage of next season's UEFA Champions League.

Zulte Waregem's reward for a fine campaign is a place in the elite competition's third qualifying round.

Club Brugge secured third place and a shot at the UEFA Europa League as Carlos Bacca's 31st-minute effort sealed a 1-0 win over Genk, while Standard Liege claimed fourth place with a 4-3 win over Lokeren.

Mijat Maric fired Lokeren ahead before Reza Ghoochannejhad levelled, but two goals inside 60 seconds by Dutra just before the break left Standard trailing 3-1.

Dino Arslanagic began the fightback, while half-time substitute Michy Batshuayi struck in the 65th and 72nd minutes to seal Standard's victory. Standard's season is still not over, however, as they now progress to a two-legged play-off with Gent with the prize of a place in the Europa League up for grabs.