Van Gaal names seven new players
© Getty Images

New Netherlands coach Louis van Gaal has named seven uncapped players in his 32-man preliminary squad to face Belgium on 15 August.

Jordy Clasie, Stefan de Vrij, Bas Dost, John Ola, Adam Maher, Ricardo van Rhijn and Nick Viergever have all been called up by Van Gaal, who succeeded Bert van Marwijk after a poor UEFA EURO 2012 campaign.

While Rafael van der Vaart, Robin van Persie, Arjen Robben and Wesley Sneijder have all been retained, one high profile omission is Mark van Bommel.

The 35-year-old was captain during Oranje's doomed campaign in Poland and Ukraine but was dropped from the starting line-up for the final group game.

And the former Barcelona, Bayern Munich and AC Milan midfielder's absence for the match against neighbours Belgium would appear to signal the end of his international career.

Van Gaal, in his second spell in charge of the national team, having also led them between 2000 and 2002, will coach the Netherlands until the 2014 FIFA World Cup™.

Netherlands preliminary squad:

Goalkeepers: Tim Krul (Newcastle United), Maarten Stekelenburg (Roma), Michel Vorm (Swansea City)
Defenders: Khalid Boulahrouz (Sporting CP), John Heitinga (Everton), Joris Mathijsen (Malaga), Ron Vlaar (Aston Villa), Gregory van der Wiel (Ajax), Jetro Willems (PSV Eindhoven), Ricardo van Rhijn (Ajax), Nick Viergever (AZ Alkmaar) and Stefan de Vrij (Feyenoord)
Midfielders: Nigel de Jong (Manchester City), Stijn Schaars (Sporting CP), Wesley Sneijder (Inter Milan), Kevin Strootman (PSV Eindhoven), Rafael van der Vaart (Tottenham Hotspur), Vurnon Anita (Ajax), Jordy Clasie (Feyenoord), Urby Emanuelson (AC Milan), Siem de Jong (Ajax), Adam Maher (AZ Alkmaar)
Forwards: Ibrahim Afellay (Barcelona), Klaas-Jan Huntelaar (Schalke), Luuk de Jong (Borussia Monchengladbach), Dirk Kuyt (Fenerbahce), Luciano Narsingh (PSV Eindhoven), Robin van Persie (Arsenal), Arjen Robben (Bayern Munich), Bas Dost (Wolfsburg), John Ola (Benfica), Jeremain Lens (PSV Eindhoven)