Trapattoni turns to youth

Republic of Ireland coach Giovanni Trapattoni has dispensed with the services of his old guard and handed his younger players a chance to prove themselves.

Captain Robbie Keane, goalkeeper Shay Given, central defender Richard Dunne and midfielder Stephen Hunt have been left out of the squad for next month's friendly clash with Serbia in Belgrade, although their absence does not signal the end of their respective careers for their country.

Stoke City utility man Marc Wilson, Everton's Seamus Coleman and Wigan Athletic midfielder James McCarthy, who asked not to be considered for UEFA EURO 2012 because his father was undergoing cancer treatment, are among the beneficiaries of Trapattoni's decision to have a look at what he hopes will form part of a new generation for the Republic as they attempt to bounce back from their disappointment in Poland and Ukraine.

I am looking forward to working with each of these players next month.
Giovanni Trapattoni, Republic of Ireland coach

Trapattoni said: "This friendly offers us a great opportunity to try out younger players ahead of our World Cup qualifying campaign. As a result, I have decided to leave some of our senior players out of the squad for this fixture.

"Serbia are a very good team with a great football heritage, and will provide us with a great test before our game against Kazakhstan in September.

"I am looking forward to working with each of these players next month. As we prepare for a new journey for this team, it is important that we remember our last campaign as we build for a brighter future."

Republic of Ireland squad:

Goalkeepers: Keiren Westwood (Sunderland), David Forde (Millwall), Darren Randolph (Motherwell)
Defenders: Marc Wilson (Stoke City), John O'Shea (Sunderland), Sean St Ledger (Leicester City), Darren O'Dea (Unattached), Stephen Ward (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Stephen Kelly (Fulham), Paul McShane (Hull City),
Midfielders: Glenn Whelan (Stoke City), Darron Gibson (Everton), James McCarthy (Wigan Athletic), Paul Green (Leeds United), Seamus Coleman (Everton), Aiden McGeady (Spartak Moscow), Andy Keogh (Millwall), James McClean (Sunderland), Keith Treacy (Burnley)
Forwards: Kevin Doyle (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Shane Long and Simon Cox (both West Bromwich Albion), Jon Walters (Stoke City)