Bilek names provisional Czech squad

Czech Republic coach Michal Bilek on Monday announced a provisional 24-man squad for the upcoming UEFA EURO 2012, with Arsenal midfielder Tomas Rosicky and Chelsea goalkeeper Petr Cech the stand-out stars.

"We have nominated 24 players for the camp, including four goalkeepers," said Bilek, who has until 29 May to name the final team.

The team comprises eight players from the Czech league, including defender Theodor Gebre Selassie from Slovan Liberec, who lifted the domestic championship on Saturday, and five from Viktoria Plzen, the 2011 title-winners who played in the UEFA Champions League this year.

The Czechs leave for their camp in Austria on 20 May, and will face Israel in a friendly there before taking on Hungary back home in Prague on 1 June. Bilek had said that he would only name 23 players for the tournament in Poland and Ukraine to prevent tensions within the squad.

But he has asked FK Teplice goalkeeper Tomas Grigar to travel to Austria with the team, as Cech will be available only after Saturday's Champions League final and Hamburg keeper Jaroslav Drobny is struggling with illness.

Czech Republic, in their fifth straight European championships, face Russia on 8 June, Greece on 12 June and Poland on 16 June in Group A, in the southern Polish city of Wroclaw near the Czech border.

Czech Republic provisional squad:
Goalkeepers: Petr Cech (Chelsea/ENG), Jan Lastuvka (Dnepropetrovsk/UKR), Jaroslav Drobny (Hamburg/GER), Tomas Grigar (Teplice)

Defenders: Frantisek Rajtoral (Plzen), Roman Hubnik (Hertha Berlin/GER), Tomas Sivok (Besiktas/TUR), Michal Kadlec (Bayer Leverkusen/GER), Daniel Pudil (Cesena/ITA), Theodor Gebre Selassie (Liberec), David Limbersky (Plzen), Marek Suchy (Spartak Moscow/RUS)

Midfielders: Tomas Rosicky (Arsenal/ENG), Jaroslav Plasil (Bordeaux/FRA), Jan Rezek (Famagusta/CYP), Daniel Kolar (Plzen), Petr Jiracek (Wolfsburg/GER), Milan Petrzela (Plzen), Vaclav Pilar (Plzen), Tomas Hubschman (Shakhtar Donetsk/UKR)

Forwards: Milan Baros (Galatasaray/TUR), David Lafata (Jablonec), Tomas Pekhart (Nurnberg/GER), Tomas Necid (CSKA Moscow/RUS)