La Volpe names Costa Rica squad

Costa Rica coach Ricardo La Volpe today named his squad of 22 players for the Copa America 2011, which begins in Argentina on 1 July.

The squad remains in shock after the death in a car accident last week of Dennis Marshall, who scored in Costa Rica's last outing against Honduras in the CONCACAF Gold Cup on 18 June.

Costa Rica are in Group A with the hosts Argentina, Colombia and Bolivia. Their first match is against Colombia in Agosto on Sunday.

Costa Rica squad:

Goalkeepers: Minor Alvarez (Belen), Leonel Moreira (Herediano), Danny Carvajal (San Carlos)
Defenders: Johnny Acosta (Alajuelense), Heiner Mora (Saprissa), Kevin Fajardo (Santos), Jose Salvatierra (Alajuelense), Francisco Calvo (San Jacinto College/USA), Pedro Leal (Puntarenas), Oscar Duarte (Saprissa)
Midfielders: Allen Guevara (Alajuelense), David Guzman (Saprissa), Jose Cubero (Heredia), Hanzel Arauz (Santos), Luis Miguel Valle (Alajuelense), Diego Madrigal (Cerro Porteno/PAR), Jorge Gatgens (Alajuelense)
Forwards: Josue Martinez (Saprissa), Joel Campbell (Saprissa), Randall Brenes (Cartagines), Jorge Castro (Saprissa), Cesar Elizondo (Saprissa)