Siasia drops unrepentant Odemwingie

Unrepentant West Bromwich Albion striker Peter Osaze Odemwingie has been dropped by Nigeria coach Samson Siasia for disciplinary reasons from next month's two matches against Argentina and Ethiopia.

Siasia punished Odemwingie for walking out on the team before a friendly against Kenya in March, and the striker, who has netted 15 goals in the English Premier League, has yet to apologise for his misconduct.

"The other players in the team had threatened to stage a mass protest and back out of other matches if I failed to sanction Osaze for leaving the camp in Abuja without permission," said Siasia. "I had no option but to do this to instil discipline in the team."

Let discipline be maintained.
Nigeria coach Siasia

Siasia added: "I didn't want a situation where I or Nigeria would be totally disgraced by the players. Let discipline be maintained. Osaze is not bigger than the team or the whole Nigeria." The coach is known as a stiff disciplinarian, dropping Chelsea midfielder John Obi Mikel from the 2008 Olympics Games, where they reached the final.

He recalled Dynamo Kiev midfielder Yusuf Ayila, who last featured at the 2010 FIFA World Cup™, for the friendly against Argentina on 1 June in Abuja and a CAF Africa Cup of Nations qualifier against Ethiopia ofour days later in Addis Adeba.

The Nigeria squad:
Goalkeepers: Vincent Enyeama (Hapoel Tel Aviv/ISR), Dele Aiyenugba (Bnei-Yehuda/ISR), Austin Ejide (Hapoel Petah Tikva/ISR)

Defenders: Joseph Yobo (Fenerbache/TUR), Taye Taiwo (Marseille/FRA), Dele Adeleye (Metalurh Donetsk/UKR), Chibuzor Okonkwo (Heartland), Efe Ambrose (Ashdod/ISR), Yusuf Mohammed (Al Hilal/SUD)

Midfielders: John Obi Mikel (Chelsea/ENG), Joel Obi (Inter Milan/ITA), Fengor Ogude (Valerenga/NOR), Nosa Igiebor (Lillesrom/NOR), Nnamdi Oduamadi (AC Milan/ITA), Promise Isaac (Manisaspor/TUR), Kalu Uche (Almeria/SPA), Yusuf Ayila (Dynamo Kiev/UKR)

Forwards: Obinna Nsofor (West Ham/ENG), Ikechukwu Uche (Real Zaragoza/SPA), Ekigho Ehiosun (Warri Wolves), Ahmed Musa (VVV Venlo/NED), Victor Anichebe (Everton/ENG), Peter Utaka (OB Odense/DEN), Emmanuel Emenike (Karabukspor/TUR)