Domestic stars dominate Bafana Bafana squad

Bernard Parker was the only Europe-based footballer included in the South Africa squad for a friendly against Tanzania in Dar es Salaam on Saturday.

The Greek season has ended which frees the Panseraikos striker for a match the Kilimanjaro Stars and Bafana Bafana (The Boys) are using to prepare for 2012 CAF Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers. Captain Steven Pienaar of Tottenham Hotspur and other professionals playing abroad are required by their clubs as most seasons across the continent draw to a close.

South Africa face defending champions Egypt in Cairo and Tanzania are away to Central African Republic during the first weekend of June in the fourth series of qualifiers for a tournament Gabon and Equatorial Guinea will co-host.

Bafana Bafana will also lack stars from league leaders Ajax Cape Town and Cup semi-finalists Orlando Pirates and Kaizer Chiefs midfielder Siphiwe Tshabalala captains the national team for the first time. Ajax are preparing for a final-round championship fixture at home to Maritzburg United on 21 May which they must win to be certain of a first Premiership title..

Fellow title contenders Pirates host Mpumalanga Black Aces in a South African FA Cup semi-final this Saturday which rules out stars like midfielder and Footballer of the Year finalist Andile Jali.

South Africa and Tanzania have met once before with a 2002 friendly finishing 1-1 in Dar es Salaam.

South Africa squad:

Goalkeepers: Itumeleng Khune (Kaizer Chiefs), Wayne Sandilands (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Defenders: Siyabonga Sangweni, Mzivukile Tom and Siyanda Zwane (Golden Arrows), Prince Hlela and Eric Mathoho (Bloemfontein Celtic), Morgan Gould (SuperSport Utd), Tefu Mashamaite (Wits University), Siyanda Xulu (Sundowns)

Midfielders: Reneilwe Letsholonyane and Siphiwe Tshabalala (Chiefs), Erwin Isaacs (Santos), Hlompho Kekana (Celtic), Thanduyise Khuboni (Arrows), Thabo Matlaba (Free State Stars), Sifiso Myeni (Wits), Thandani Ntshumayelo (SuperSport)

Strikers: Lehlohonolo Majoro (AmaZulu), Katlego Mphela (Sundowns), Bernard Parker (Panseraikos/GRE), Vuyisile Wana (Santos)