Gold Cup schedule revealed

Defending champion Mexico will face El Salvador in the opening double-header of the CONCACAF Gold Cup at Cowboys Stadium in Texas in the tournament schedule, announced today.

The North, Central American and Caribbean regional governing body's 12-team championship tournament will be staged across the United States from 5 to 25 June with USA and Mexico favoured to reach the championship match at the Rose Bowl in California.

We are extremely excited for this year's Gold Cup.
Chuck Blazer

Mexico will join Costa Rica, El Salvador and Cuba in Group A with the hosts in Group C along with Canada, Panama and Guadeloupe and Group B featuring Jamaica, Honduras, Guatemala and Grenada. The Mexicans have won five titles, while the Americans have taken four and Canada has claimed one since the biennial event began 20 years ago.

The round-robin stage begins on 5 June at the 100,000-seat home of American football's Dallas Cowboys with Cuba facing Costa Rica ahead of the Mexico and El Salvador match. The next day, Group B games begin in Los Angeles with Jamaica's Reggae Boyz facing Grenada and Honduras meeting Guatemala.

Group C matches begin on 7 June at Detroit's Ford Field with a USA and Canada clash just a few miles from their common border and Panama meeting Guadeloupe.

"We are extremely excited for this year's Gold Cup and are completely confident that it will be the best ever," CONCACAF general secretary Chuck Blazer said.