Osieck names Asian Cup squad
© Getty Images

Australia have named a 23-man squad for next month's AFC Asian Cup in Qatar, bringing in two uncapped players including Melbourne Victory striker Robbie Kruse.

Coach Holger Osieck's squad, packed with 19 overseas-based players, names 12 who competed at the 2010 FIFA World Cup in South Africa as well as a second newcomer in Nathan Coe, goalkeeper with Denmark's Sonderjysk Elitesport. Kruse, 22, comes in for injured striker Josh Kennedy on the back of a season in which he has scored 10 goals in 15 games for the Victory.

He was one of four players from Australia's A-League along with Brisbane Roar's Matt McKay, Jason Culina from Gold Coast United and Wellington's Jade North. Joining Tim Cahill, Harry Kewell, Mark Schwarzer and captain Lucas Neill in the squad is AFC Asian Player of the Year Sasa Ognenovski, who made his debut for Australia in last month's friendly against Egypt and who this season led South Korean club Seongnam Ilhwa to the AFC Champions League title.

AEK Athens striker Nathan Burns was also included in the squad. Australia play their Asian Cup opener against India on 10 January at Al Sadd Stadium in a grouping which includes Korea Republic and Bahrain.

Australia squad: Nathan Burns (AEK Athens/GRE), Tim Cahill (Everton, ENG), David Carney (Blackpool/ENG), Nathan Coe (Sonderjysk Elitesport/DEN), Jason Culina (Gold Coast United/AUS), Brett Emerton (Blackburn Rovers/ENG), Richard Garcia (Hull City/ENG), Brett Holman (AZ Alkmaar/NED), Mile Jedinak (Genclerbirligi/TUR), Brad Jones (Liverpool/ENG), Harry Kewell (Galatasaray/TUR), Neil Kilkenny (Leeds/ENG), Robbie Kruse (Melbourne Victory/AUS), Scott McDonald (Middlesbrough/ENG), Jon McKain (Al Nassr/KSA), Matt McKay (Brisbane Roar/AUS), Lucas Neill (Galatasaray/TUR), Jade North (Wellington Phoenix/NZL), Sasa Ognenovski (Seongnam Ilhwa/KOR), Mark Schwarzer (Fulham/ENG), Matthew Spiranovic (Urawa Red Diamonds/JPN), Carl Valeri (Sassuolo Calcio/ITA), Luke Wilkshire (Dynamo Moscow/RUS)