Giants to meet in FA Cup
© Getty Images

Bitter rivals Manchester United and Liverpool will meet in the third round of the FA Cup after the English giants were drawn against each other.

The match, which will take place at United's Old Trafford ground, was the only all-Premier League tie in the last-64 of the world's oldest major knockout football competition.

Holders Chelsea were drawn at home to second-tier Ipswich Town while Arsenal, another side with several FA Cup triumphs to their credit, were given a home draw against Leeds United.

The two non-league sides definitely through to the third round both received away draws with York City travelling to Premier League Bolton Wanderers and Dover destined for Huddersfield Town.

FC United of Manchester, a club formed by disillusioned Manchester United fans, will be at home to Portsmouth - last season's beaten finalists and 2008 Cup winners - if they defeat Pompey's south coast rivals Brighton.

Third round ties are due to be played on the weekend of 8-9 January.

Manchester United and Liverpool have won the FA Cup 18 times between them and have met twice in the final itself.

United denied Liverpool what would have been an unprecedented treble of League, FA Cup and European Cup triumphs in the same season with a 2-1 win at Wembley in 1977 and also beat their north-west foes 1-0 in 1996 to complete a league and cup double.

FA Cup third round draw:
Burnley-Port Vale
Coventry City-Crystal Palace
Bristol City-Sheffield Wednesday
Fulham-Peterborough United
Doncaster Rovers-Wolverhampton Wanderers
Brighton or FC United of Manchester-Portsmouth
Huddersfield Town-Dover
Crawley or Swindon Town-Derby
West Ham United-Barnsley
Reading-West Bromwich Albion
Arsenal-Leeds United
Sheffield United-Aston Villa
Leicester City-Manchester City
Bolton Wanderers-York City
Blackburn Rovers-Queens Park Rangers
Swansea City-Colchester United
Wycombe Wanderers-Hereford United or Lincoln City
Stevenage-Newcastle United
Millwall-Birmingham City
Watford-Hartlepool or Yeovil
Chelsea-Ipswich Town
Sunderland-Notts County or Bournemouth
Scunthorpe United-Everton
Manchester United-Liverpool
Hull City-Wigan Athletic
Stoke City-Cardiff City
Tottenham Hotspur-Charlton Athletic or Luton Town
Preston North End-Nottingham Forest
Norwich City-Droylsden or Leyton Orient
Torquay United-Carlisle United